Constitutional Provision: House of Assembly acknowledges 7 Commissioner nominees, ignores 24 years old nominee

The Kwara State House of Assembly has acknowledged the receipt of seven nominees as against the eight nominees that was allegedly forwarded by the Executive Governor of Kwara State, Abdulrazaq Abdulrahman.

The press release that emanated from the office of the Speaker in what appears as a fresh controversy excluded the name of the 24 years old nominee, Kaosarah Adeyi. Prior to the press release, the social media had gone agog with prominent politicians like a former House of Representatives Aspirant, Ibrahim Akaje hailing her nomination.

However, Harmony Times gathered that her exclusion might not be unconnected with the Provision of the 1999 Constitution, Part IIA section 192(4) that has pegged the minimum age of Commissioners to 25 as can be related to the Not too young to run bill.

The statement reads in parts,

“Kwara State House of Assembly has acknowledged the receipt of Seven (7) Commissioner nominees from the State Governor, His Excellency Mallam AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq.”

“The Speaker of the House, Right Honourable Yakubu Danladi-Salihu who confirmed this in a statement explained that the nomination was made through executive communication from the Governor.”

“He added that the nominees are expected to submit relevant document latest by 4pm tomorrow Wednesday 24th of March and appear for screening before the lawmakers on Thursday 25th of this month.”

The statement went further and alluded to the omission of certain nominee(s),

“The Commissioner Nominees whose nomination are acknowledged by the House are Aliyu Kora-Sabi, Baruten, Raji Razaq, Ekiti, Fatima Arinola Lawal, Ilorin East and Saadah Maddibbo Kawu, Ilorin South.”

“Others are Aliyu Muhammad Saifudeen, Kaiama, Sulaiman Rotimi Iliasu, Moro and Wahab Femi Agbaje, Offa.”

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button